Brazil’s Santa Catarina and São Paulo states get new metropolitan regions

In 2021, there were 81 metropolitan areas, of which Santa Catarina led with 14, followed by Paraíba (12), Alagoas (9) and São Paulo (9). There are three urban agglomerations, one in the state of São Paulo and two in Rio Grande do Sul.

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - The Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) today (14) published Metropolitan Regions, Integrated Development Regions (Rides) and Urban Agglomerations (2021), which highlights the creation of new metropolitan regions (MRs) in the states of Santa Catarina and São Paulo.

"In Santa Catarina, a complementary law created the MRs of Joinville, Planalto Norte and Jaraguá do Sul. In São Paulo, the . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?