
SIERRA LEONE · TRAVEL GUIDE
Key Facts
- Money paid The IMF has paid out about US$158.6 million under the Extended Credit Facility, including US$31.7 million after the third review on Thursday, 18 June 2026.
- Climate loan A separate climate-resilience arrangement worth about US$211.5 million was approved, and payments start only after its first review.
- Prices Inflation reached 10.8% in April 2026, up from 4.3% at the end of 2025, and is projected at 11.6% by the end of 2026.
- Growth Growth is projected to slow from 5.0% in 2025 to 4.0% in 2026, as the outlook weakens amid the Middle East war.
- Risks Public debt is sustainable but at high risk of distress, and foreign reserves cover only 1.9 months of imports.
- Next dates An audit of unpaid government bills is due by the end of November 2026, and a bank resolution framework by the end of December 2026.
Sierra Leone’s lending program with the International Monetary Fund began two years ago today. Here is what it has delivered and what to watch, as of Saturday, 31 October 2026.
- IMF: the International Monetary Fund, a Washington-based lender that backs governments with loans and conditions.
- Extended Credit Facility (ECF): the IMF’s main loan program for low-income countries, paid out in steps after each review.
- Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF): a second IMF arrangement that funds climate-resilience reforms.
- Bank of Sierra Leone (BSL): the central bank, which sets interest rates and holds the country’s foreign reserves.
- Net domestic assets: an IMF limit on how much the central bank can lend at home.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has paid Sierra Leone about US$158.6 million since approving a loan program on Thursday, 31 October 2024. On Thursday, 18 June 2026, its board also approved a US$211.5 million climate-resilience arrangement.
Inflation reached 10.8% in April 2026, and the IMF projects 11.6% by the end of the year. The IMF cites higher gas, transport and rent costs, and says the outlook weakened amid the Middle East war.
This guide explains the program, the money, the conditions and the open questions. It rests on IMF documents read on Saturday, 31 October 2026.
What the IMF Program Is
The IMF approved Sierra Leone’s Extended Credit Facility on Thursday, 31 October 2024. The arrangement runs until Thursday, 30 December 2027.
Sierra Leone, a country of about nine million people, joined the IMF in 1962. Its lending program is paid out in instalments, each released only after the board completes a review.
The first and second reviews were completed on Tuesday, 16 December 2025, releasing about US$79.8 million. The IMF said program performance had since improved.
What Happened at the Third Review
The board completed the third review on Thursday, 18 June 2026, releasing about US$31.7 million. That brings total payments under the facility to about US$158.6 million.
The board also approved the climate arrangement, worth about US$211.5 million, to build resilience to climate shocks. Payments begin only after its first review, and the arrangement ends on Thursday, 30 December 2027.

The board granted waivers for two missed targets. Sierra Leone exceeded its 2025 cap on concessional foreign borrowing by about US$8.5 million.
It also missed the limit on central bank lending at home at the end of December 2025. The IMF says it was brought on track by the end of March 2026, against a tighter end-June target.
To fix the borrowing breach, the 2026 ceiling was cut by US$8.5 million. The IMF counted that cut as a corrective action.
Prices, Growth and the Middle East War
Inflation rose from 4.3% at the end of 2025 to 10.8% in April 2026, driven by higher gas, transport and rent costs. Fuel prices were raised this year by 28% for petrol and 46% for diesel, amid an oil price shock.
The IMF projects growth of 4.0% in 2026, down from a preliminary 5.0% in 2025. The central bank cut its policy rate by two percentage points to 16.75% in December 2025 and has held it since.
The leone has been stable against the US dollar, the IMF says. Fuel subsidies are capped at 0.13% of national output in 2026 and described as strictly temporary.
Reserves, Debt and the Problem Bank
Foreign reserves covered 1.9 months of imports in March 2026, which the IMF calls an inadequate buffer. It projects about 2.6 to 2.7 months by the end of the year.
Public debt is projected at 47.3% of non-iron ore output in 2026. The IMF says debt is sustainable but at high risk of distress.
Union Trust Bank entered resolution proceedings as a prior action, a step the IMF required before the board met. The central bank hired an accounting firm to value its assets and size the funding gap, which the government will cover.
The plan was to resolve the bank by the end of June 2026. Whether that happened was not confirmed on any page read.
Dates and Conditions to Watch
Sierra Leone had to put in place an iron ore safe harbor, a preset tax rule for the mining sector. It also had to list its unpaid government bills and show that new mining deals follow the law.
A supplementary budget and anti-corruption amendments were due by the end of September 2026. An audit of unpaid bills is due by Monday, 30 November 2026, and a bank resolution framework by Thursday, 31 December 2026.
By then, the government must also repay overdue budget support loans to the central bank, about 1.5% of national output. The IMF’s own report names reform fatigue from the size of the fiscal adjustment as a key risk.
What It Means for You
For US investors, the program is a check on a mining economy that depends heavily on iron ore. Steady IMF reviews signal discipline, while the high risk of distress warns against assuming smooth repayment.
For travellers and remittance senders, higher fuel and rent costs can lift local prices even while the leone holds steady. Watch for the next IMF statement before making large commitments in Sierra Leone.
What Is Not Known
The date of the fourth review was not stated in the IMF documents read, and no newer IMF press release was found. Whether the end-September 2026 targets were met is unknown.
Whether Union Trust Bank was resolved by the end of June 2026 could not be confirmed. Inflation after April 2026 was not found in an official release.
The total size of the Extended Credit Facility was not stated in the pages read. A table in the first-and-second review report projects about US$256.9 million in IMF budget support over 2024 to 2027.
Related Coverage
Read the Rio Times Sierra Leone Explained pillar and the Sierra Leone economy and mining guide. The Sierra Leone news page lists every recent report.
See the iron ore bust explainer and the entry rules for US travelers. The Africa section covers the wider region.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Sierra Leone’s IMF program?
It is an Extended Credit Facility approved on Thursday, 31 October 2024 and running until Thursday, 30 December 2027. The IMF pays it in instalments after each review.
How much has the IMF paid Sierra Leone?
About US$158.6 million under the Extended Credit Facility by the third review on Thursday, 18 June 2026. A separate US$211.5 million climate arrangement pays out only after its first review.
Why is inflation rising in Sierra Leone?
Inflation reached 10.8% in April 2026, driven by gas, transport and rent costs. Fuel prices were raised this year by 28% for petrol and 46% for diesel, amid an oil price shock.
Is Sierra Leone at risk of a debt crisis?
The IMF says debt is sustainable but at high risk of distress. Reserves cover only 1.9 months of imports, which it calls inadequate.
Sources: IMF Country Report No. 26/168, Sierra Leone third review (Board 18 June 2026); IMF Country Report No. 26/40, Sierra Leone first and second reviews; IMF Press Release, first and second reviews (16 December 2025); IMF, Sierra Leone country page (all accessed 31 October 2026).
This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error · Editorial responsibility: Matthias Camenzind, Editor-in-Chief