SOUTH AFRICA · RETAIL
Key Facts
- —The deal Shoprite has agreed to acquire 100% of Vida e Caffè, covering South African and international operations.
- —Signed 20 August 2026, announced with full-year results on 1 September.
- —The estate About 400 corporate and franchise outlets across Africa.
- —The price Not disclosed. Neither transaction was categorisable under JSE listing requirements.
- —The other deal Shoprite finalised an initial 51% stake in R&A Cellular on 14 August 2026. That one has already closed.
- —The scale Merchandise sales of R270.8 billion (about US$16.8 billion) in the 52 weeks to 28 June 2026, up 7.2%.
Africa’s largest grocer is buying a coffee chain and a payments network in the same month. Only one of them is about coffee.

Shoprite has agreed to buy all of Vida e Caffè, taking on roughly 400 corporate and franchise outlets across Africa, in a transaction announced alongside full-year results that showed merchandise sales of R270.8 billion.
What Was Agreed
Shoprite signed a purchase agreement on 20 August 2026 to acquire 100% of Vida e Caffè, covering its South African and international operations, and disclosed it with results on 1 September.
Completion is expected during Shoprite’s 2027 financial year, subject to conditions precedent and regulatory approval. Chief executive Pieter Engelbrecht said Vida has established itself as South Africa’s leading coffee brand.
The estate is about 400 corporate and franchise outlets across Africa, not solely in South Africa.
No Price Was Published
Shoprite disclosed no purchase price. Neither this transaction nor the R&A Cellular purchase was categorisable under JSE listing requirements, which is the threshold that would have compelled disclosure.
Press reports have put the two deals together at roughly R1 billion, about US$62 million, a figure the company has not confirmed. The Rio Times reports it as an unconfirmed press estimate rather than a deal value.
The Payments Deal Is the Other One
Shoprite finalised the purchase of an initial 51% interest in R&A Cellular on 14 August 2026, six days before signing the Vida agreement. That transaction has already closed; only Vida remains subject to regulatory approval.
R&A Cellular operates a device network used by informal and semi-formal micro-retailers as access points for financial and everyday services, and will sit inside Shoprite’s financial-services division.
It is R&A Cellular, not Vida, that extends Shoprite into township and rural payment channels. The two purchases have been widely conflated, and they do different things.

Why a Grocer Buys a Coffee Chain
Vida sits in a category Shoprite does not own: prepared food and drink bought on the move, at a frequency no supermarket visit matches. A customer buys groceries weekly and coffee daily.
The franchise base is the second attraction. Roughly 400 outlets with an existing operator network can be expanded faster than corporate stores, because the capital and the labour come from the franchisee.
Shoprite has been extending beyond groceries for several years through its Checkers Sixty60 delivery service, its pharmacy and liquor formats and now financial services. Coffee is the adjacent daily transaction it did not have.

The Results Behind It
Merchandise sales from continuing operations reached R270.8 billion (about US$16.8 billion) in the 52 weeks to 28 June 2026, up 7.2%. Total revenue was R274.8 billion (about US$17 billion), up 7.1%.
Headline earnings per share rose 12.2% to 1,532.5 cents, about US$0.95. Checkers Sixty60 recorded sales of R25.5 billion, about US$1.58 billion.
A company growing merchandise sales at 7.2% in a weak South African consumer market has the balance sheet to make acquisitions of this size without straining it.
What to Watch
The competition authority’s treatment of the Vida deal is the near-term question. South Africa’s regulator has taken an increasingly close interest in retail consolidation and in its effects on smaller operators.
The longer question is whether the coffee estate is expanded inside Shoprite’s own stores. Placing Vida counters in Checkers outlets would be the obvious synergy, and it is also the move that would most change the franchisees’ economics.
More: Africa news in English, every day from The Rio Times.
Frequently Asked Questions
What did Shoprite buy?
All of Vida e Caffè, about 400 corporate and franchise outlets across Africa, under an agreement signed 20 August 2026.
What did it pay?
Not disclosed. Press reports put the Vida and R&A Cellular deals together at roughly R1 billion (about US$62 million), which Shoprite has not confirmed.
When does it complete?
During Shoprite’s 2027 financial year, subject to conditions and regulatory approval.
What is R&A Cellular?
A device network used by micro-retailers for financial and everyday services. Shoprite finalised an initial 51% stake on 14 August 2026.
How large is Shoprite?
Merchandise sales of R270.8 billion (about US$16.8 billion) in the 52 weeks to 28 June 2026, up 7.2%.
Sources: Shoprite Holdings results announcement, BusinessTech, Business Day, IOL, Supermarket.co.za.
This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error
LatAm Markets: Live Signals → — real-time movers, turnover leaders and FX across Latin America.
Read More from The Rio Times