IVORY COAST · AGRICULTURE
Published Wednesday, 28 October, 5:16 p.m. ET · Source: Conseil hévéa-palmier à huile-coco (CHPC), Ivorian Ministry of Agriculture
Key Facts
- Who The Conseil hévéa-palmier à huile-coco (CHPC), the council covering rubber, oil palm and coconut sectors, launched the works.
- What Rehabilitation of agricultural tracks, including 217 culverts and seven box culverts in Tabou, to improve palm-oil harvest transport.
- Where Tabou department, in Côte d'Ivoire's southwest, with related works reported in San Pedro and Gboklê areas.
- When The Tabou launch was reported on October 28, 2026, at 17:25, though the time zone was not specified.
What Was Announced
The CHPC launched rehabilitation works on agricultural tracks in Tabou department on October 28, 2026, according to local reporting published at 17:25, though the time zone was not specified. The stated purpose is to improve the transport of palm-oil harvests and limit lost income, especially during the rainy season.
The works form part of the infrastructure component of the Interim Development Programme for the Palm-Oil and Coconut Value Chains. That programme was launched on July 31, 2026, at Grand-Béréby by Bruno Nabagné Koné, minister of Agriculture, Rural Development and Food Crops.

Scope Of The Works
In Tabou, the reported works include 217 culverts of different sizes, seven box culverts, and treatment of critical points on several routes. Across palm-oil production zones in 2026, the programme reportedly provides for 800 structures, including culverts and box culverts, and 100 kilometres of road-track regrading.
In the San Pedro and Gboklê areas, the reported works include 52 kilometres of heavy regrading and 336 crossing structures. The available reporting does not specify whether these figures refer to contracts already awarded, planned works, or projected programme totals.
Why Palm Oil Matters
The programme's stated objective is to strengthen the competitiveness and sustainability of the palm-oil and coconut sectors. Côte d'Ivoire's wider palm-oil strategy includes plantation renewal, improved access to high-yield seedlings, stronger smallholder support, and rural-infrastructure upgrades.
That figure should not be treated as the cost of the roads announced in Tabou.
What Is Not Known
The available reporting gives no confirmed project budget for the Tabou works or for the wider road programme. The US$3.5 million amount cited in some accounts is unverified in the available reports.
The precise CFA-franc budget, funding source, contractor, tender or award date, completion deadline, and maintenance obligations are not reported. It is also unclear whether construction had begun on all listed components or whether any works were completed.
What It Means for US Readers
For US readers, this matters because Côte d'Ivoire is a major palm-oil producer and a growing investment destination for agro-industrial projects. Egyptian officials recently identified Ivorian palm oil production as a prime area for direct investment by Egyptian firms.
The road rehabilitation is part of a broader push to modernise Ivorian agriculture and improve export competitiveness. US companies with interests in West African agricultural supply chains may see improved rural infrastructure as a signal of reduced logistics risk.
What Is Not Known
The US$3.5 million figure is unverified in the available reports. It may refer to a narrower contract, a converted CFA-franc amount, or a different project, but no supporting document is identified.
The exact roads or villages in Tabou, the number of farmers expected to benefit, baseline transport costs, and any independent monitoring arrangements are not identified. No direct quotation from officials, farmers, contractors, or residents appears in the available report.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the CHPC?
The Conseil hévéa-palmier à huile-coco (CHPC) is Côte d’Ivoire’s council covering the rubber, oil palm and coconut sectors. It is the implementing institution for the road rehabilitation works in Tabou.
How much is Côte d’Ivoire spending on these roads?
The available reporting gives no confirmed project budget for the Tabou works or the wider road programme. A separate 10-year sector plan is valued at CFAF245.9 billion, about US$440 million, but that is not the cost of the roads announced in Tabou.
Where are the road works taking place?
The principal location reported is Tabou department, in Côte d’Ivoire’s southwest. Related works are also reported in the San Pedro and Gboklê areas.
Sources: Conseil hévéa-palmier à huile-coco (CHPC), Ivorian Ministry of Agriculture.
More: Africa news, every day from The Rio Times.
This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error · Editorial responsibility: Matthias Camenzind, Editor-in-Chief