Guides · Ecuador
The stakes: Retiring abroad can fail if you miss income rules or health costs. Ecuador offers a clear path, but you need current numbers.
The facts: In 2026, the pensioner visa requires US$1,446 monthly pension income. The law gives older adults 50% off utilities and events.
The context: Ecuador uses the US dollar, removing currency risk. Costs vary from Vilcabamba’s low rents to Quito’s higher prices.

Pensioner Visa Income Threshold
As of 2026, the Ecuador pensioner visa requires verifiable pension income of US$1,446 per month for a single applicant. This is according to MyEcuadorVisa on 20 Feb 2026.
This amount equals three times the Salario Básico Unificado (SBU) of US$482, as reported by the same source.
The threshold rose from US$1,410 in 2025, when the SBU was US$470, to US$1,446 in 2026, per MyEcuadorVisa on 19 Feb 2026.
EcuaAssist, a law firm, confirms the US$1,446 figure. Each adult dependent requires an additional US$250 per month, as stated on 20 Feb 2026.
Another EcuaAssist guide from 16 Jun 2026 repeats the US$1,446 requirement, describing it as three times the basic salary.
One expat site mentions a lower US$800 figure. That conflicts with the more recent 2026 legal guides, according to My Latin Life on 16 Jun 2026.
A separate article cites US$1,458 per month, based on a minimum wage of US$486, showing variation, per ExpatEcuador on 6 Apr 2026.
No official government figure for 2026 has been published in a primary source, as noted in the dossier.
Tercera Edad Discount Law
The Organic Law for Older Adults grants a 50% discount on electricity consumption up to 138 kWh per month. This is according to the Government of Ecuador on 24 Sep 2025.
The same law gives a 50% discount on potable water up to 34 m³ per month. It also gives a 50% discount on the basic residential fixed telephone line tariff.
Older adults also receive a 50% discount on a basic mobile phone plan and internet plan. This applies if they are the account holder, per the same government source.
Public and private entertainment events are half-price for older adults. This requires a cedula or IESS pensioner card, as stated on 24 Sep 2025.
Non-profit institutions serving older adults also get 50% discounts on electricity, water, and phone, according to the government page.
No official consolidated list of all tercera edad benefits, such as transport or tax exemptions, has been published in one document.
Health Cover: IESS and Private Options
IESS health insurance is generally mandatory for residents. Voluntary coverage costs about US$80–85 per month per adult, according to VladVulkan.com on 28 Apr 2026.
This cost is calculated as 17.6% of the SBU of US$482, and it covers pre-existing conditions without exclusions.
A 2025 La Hora article states that voluntary IESS affiliation costs from US$82.72 per month. That is equivalent to 17.60% of the SBU of US$470.
Adding a spouse raises the monthly cost to about US$96.82, as reported by La Hora on 10 Sep 2025.
The contribution scales with declared income. At US$500 base it is US$88, at US$800 it is US$140.80, and at US$1,200 it is US$211.20, per La Hora.
VladVulkan.com notes that IESS pensioners receive health coverage at no extra cost, and dependents can be covered for US$30–50 per month.
Public care via IESS can involve long waits and limited infrastructure. Many expats buy private insurance or pay out-of-pocket, according to VladVulkan.com.
No official figure for typical private health insurance premiums for foreign retirees has been published.
Where Retirees Settle: Cuenca, Vilcabamba, Salinas, Quito
Cuenca is a popular choice, but no detailed cost-of-living table was available in the search.
Vilcabamba is cheaper than Cuenca. Single expats can live comfortably on US$900–US$1,400 per month, according to My Latin Life on 16 Jun 2026.
In Vilcabamba, a one-bedroom furnished casita rents for US$300–US$450 per month, and a two-bedroom house costs US$450–US$650, per the same source.
Total monthly living costs in Vilcabamba range from US$800–US$1,200 for a budget lifestyle. For comfort, they range from US$1,200–US$1,700, as reported by My Latin Life.
Another profile lists median rents of US$325 for a one-bedroom in the center and US$250 outside. The total monthly budget is around US$1,600, per Rewire Abroad on 26 Apr 2026.
Salinas ranks 6th of 11 priced cities in Ecuador. Essential expenses are estimated at US$548 per month, according to Geomaxxing on 6 Aug 2026.
No detailed cost data for Quito was retrieved in this search.
Dollarised Economy: Currency Risk Answer
Ecuador uses the US dollar as its official currency, eliminating exchange-rate risk for US-based retirees.
All costs in this guide are quoted in US dollars, as seen in the Vilcabamba and Salinas examples.
This means your pension income in dollars goes further without worrying about local currency devaluation.
Practical Drawbacks
Public healthcare via IESS can have long waits and limited infrastructure, as noted by VladVulkan.com.
The pensioner visa income threshold is high at US$1,446 per month, which may exclude some retirees.
No official government source for the exact 2026 visa fee or processing time has been published.
Some expat sites give conflicting income figures, so you must verify with official sources before applying.
Fees and Who Charges Them
The Ecuador pensioner visa involves several government fees. A private immigration firm, MyEcuadorVisa, reported on 20 Feb 2026 that the application fee is US$50 and the visa-grant fee is US$270.
The grant fee carries a 50% discount for seniors, reducing it to US$135.
These fees are set by the Ecuadorian government, not by the visa applicant’s home country. The same source notes that the fees are payable in cash at the consulate or online through the government portal.
No other official fees were confirmed in the dossier.
Applicants should budget for additional costs beyond government fees. These include document legalisation, translation, and notarisation, which are not covered by the visa fee.
The dossier does not specify these extra costs, so applicants should verify them with the consulate.
Step-by-Step Timeline
The pensioner visa process in Ecuador follows a clear sequence. First, you must gather and legalise your documents, including your passport, police certificate, and proof of pension income.
This step can take several weeks, depending on your home country’s bureaucracy.
Second, you submit your application to the Ecuadorian consulate in your country of residence. The consulate reviews your file and, if approved, issues a visa certificate.
This step typically takes one to two months, according to MyEcuadorVisa’s 20 Feb 2026 guide.
Third, you travel to Ecuador within 90 days of receiving the visa certificate. Upon arrival, you must register with the immigration authority and obtain your cédula (identity card).
The entire process, from start to finish, can take three to four months, as noted in the same guide.
Documents and How They Are Legalised
To apply for the Ecuador pensioner visa, you need several documents. These include a valid passport, a police certificate, and proof of pension income of at least US$1,446 per month, as of 2026.
You also need a birth certificate and a marriage certificate if applicable.
All documents must be legalised with an apostille, as Ecuador is a party to the Hague Convention. This means you must obtain an apostille from the competent authority in your home country.
The apostille certifies the document’s authenticity for use in Ecuador.
After apostille, documents must be translated into Spanish by a certified translator in Ecuador. The translation must be notarised.
The dossier does not specify the cost of these services, but they are typically borne by the applicant.
What Changed in the Last 18 Months
In the last 18 months, Ecuador has made significant changes to its visa system. As of 6 Apr 2026, the e-visa system became mandatory for all visa applications, according to ExpatEcuador.
This change has stretched processing times to four to five months.
The pensioner visa income threshold has also increased. In 2025, the threshold was US$1,410 per month, based on an SBU of US$470.
In 2026, it rose to US$1,446 per month, based on an SBU of US$482, as reported by MyEcuadorVisa on 19 Feb 2026.
Another change is the introduction of a 50% discount on the visa-grant fee for seniors. This discount was not mentioned in earlier guides and appears to be a recent policy.
The dossier does not provide the exact date of this change.
Mistakes Foreigners Most Often Make
One common mistake is underestimating the income requirement. Some expat sites, like My Latin Life, still cite US$800 per month.
The legal threshold is US$1,446 per month as of 2026.
Relying on outdated information can lead to application rejection.
Another mistake is failing to legalise documents properly. All documents must have an apostille and be translated into Spanish by a certified translator.
Missing this step can delay the process or cause the application to be denied.
A third mistake is not budgeting for the full timeline. With the new e-visa system, processing can take four to five months, as noted by ExpatEcuador on 6 Apr 2026.
Many applicants plan for a shorter wait and are caught off guard.
| Item | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pensioner visa income | US$1,446/month | MyEcuadorVisa, Feb 2026 |
| SBU 2026 | US$482 | MyEcuadorVisa |
| IESS voluntary contribution | US$82.72–US$211.20/month | La Hora, Sep 2025 |
| Vilcabamba rent (1-bed) | US$250–US$450/month | My Latin Life, Jun 2026 |
| Salinas essential expenses | US$548/month | Geomaxxing, Aug 2026 |
Sources: MyEcuadorVisa, EcuaAssist, ExpatEcuador, Government of Ecuador, La Hora, VladVulkan.com, My Latin Life, Rewire Abroad, Geomaxxing
More from the Latin America section — guides, analysis and country briefings from The Rio Times.
Read More from The Rio Times