2018 Brasileirão Campaign Ends with a Tenth Title for Palmeiras

This latest title means that Palmeiras have now won a total of ten titles since 1959, compared to Santos’ eight titles, Corinthians’ seven, and Flamengo and São Paulo with six titles apiece.

By Jack Arnhold, Contributing Reporter

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL – This Sunday, December 2nd, Palmeiras lifted the cup of the 2018 Campeonato Brasileiro (Brasileirão) Série A championship after a measured 3-2 victory at Allianz Parque in São Paulo over nineteenth-placed Esporte Clube Vitória.

Both sides started well, with Yago Rocha’s long-distance strike sent whistling past the Palmeiras goalpost after 14 minutes. The Verdão replied 7 minutes later with a cleverly-worked pass looped over the Vitória defence, only for Miguel Borja to volley the ball inches over the bar.

After 43 . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?