Former NuPEA Accountant Fake KCSE Certificate Court Fine

KENYA · COURTS
Key Facts
- —What is happening On Monday, 19 October 2026, a Nairobi anti-corruption court fined former Nuclear Power and Energy Agency accountant Lilian Mweche Muyumba KSh130,000 (about US$1,000) after she pleaded guilty to using a forged school certificate.
- —Why it matters The case concerns an accountant at a Kenyan state nuclear agency who used a forged certificate to get her job, and a court has convicted her.
- —The numbers The fines are KSh30,000 (about US$231) and KSh100,000 (about US$770), with default terms of one year and two years in prison respectively.
- —Who is who Magistrate Rose Ndombi sat at the Milimani Anti-Corruption Court, the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission investigated, and the Director of Public Prosecutions agreed the plea deal.
- —What to watch Whether Muyumba pays both fines in full, and whether any employment or recovery step follows; none is public yet.
- —What it means for you For US readers the case is a small governance signal for a country with a state nuclear programme; it changes nothing for travel, trade or US policy.
A Nairobi court has fined a former accountant at Kenya’s nuclear agency for using a fake school certificate to get her job. The sentence is settled, but her job, any repayment and any appeal are not reported.
The former NuPEA accountant fake KCSE certificate case ended on Monday, 19 October 2026, with a court fine of KSh130,000 (about US$1,000). NuPEA is the Nuclear Power and Energy Agency, a Kenyan state agency, as the three outlets name it.
It matters beyond one employee because a state energy agency’s hiring checks are in question. This page reports only what The Star, Citizen Digital and KBC say the court established.
What the Court Established About the Fake Certificate
Milimani Anti-Corruption Court Magistrate Rose Ndombi convicted Lilian Mweche Muyumba on two counts, The Star, Citizen Digital and KBC report. She pleaded guilty under an agreement with the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), who runs state prosecutions.
The Star says the judgment was delivered on Monday, 19 October 2026, four days before the first reports. It says she admitted the prosecution’s facts and gave up a full trial.
The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), Kenya’s anti-graft agency, investigated the case. It found that she submitted a forged Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) certificate to get the job, the three outlets report.
The certificate claimed she sat the 1996 exams at Moi Girls Secondary School, Nangili, with grade C+, The Star reports. The Star says she got the job with it, and Citizen Digital and KBC give the same school and year.
The Fine, the Offences and the Default Terms
She was fined KSh30,000 (about US$231) for uttering a false document and KSh100,000 (about US$770) for presenting a forged certificate. The total is KSh130,000 (about US$1,000), at the rate of 23 October 2026 of about KSh130 to the US dollar.
On default she serves one year in prison on the first count and two years on the second, all three outlets say. The Star says the parties proposed fines of KSh130,000 (about US$1,000) in total, with discharge on full payment.
She first faced three charges: forgery, uttering a false document and presenting a forged certificate. Under the plea deal the prosecution withdrew the forgery charge, The Star says, and she pleaded guilty to the other two.
Uttering a false document falls under sections 353 and 349 of the Penal Code. Presenting a forged certificate falls under section 34(a) of the Kenya National Examinations Council Act, the three outlets say.

What the Sentence Means for Her Employment
The three outlets call Muyumba a former NuPEA accountant, so she no longer holds the post, as the reports describe her. None says when or how she left, or whether the agency took any step against her.
The Star says the EACC welcomed the conviction as a deterrent against falsified academic documents. No outlet reports an EACC claim for salary, a civil recovery case or any further charge.
The Star says the prosecution and Muyumba both urged a non-custodial sentence. They cited remorse and the fact that she had no stable source of income.
What It Means for US Readers
For US readers, this is a small governance signal from a country with a state nuclear programme. A forged certificate at a state energy agency raises hiring-control questions, though no report links the case to any project decision.
Nothing in the reports affects travel, trade or US policy toward Kenya. Investors following the nuclear plan should watch the agency’s own statements, which have not been found on this case.
What Is Not Known
The accused’s own statement beyond her guilty plea is not reported. Neither is NuPEA’s response, and its website could not be opened for this page.
It is not known when she worked at the agency, what salary she earned, or when she left. The Star says only that the agency was earlier called the Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board.
It is not known whether she has paid the fines or whether anyone will appeal. The court record was not public at the time of writing.
What Comes Next
The next visible step is payment of the two fines, which would end the matter on the terms the parties proposed. Any EACC, agency or court statement would be reported by Kenyan outlets.
For the agency itself, read NuPEA Explained: Kenya’s Nuclear Agency and Why It Matters. More is on the Kenya page, with related reading: Kenya’s nuclear plan and its cost questions and Kenya’s cargo insurance rule.
Frequently Asked Questions
What did the court decide in the NuPEA fake certificate case?
Magistrate Rose Ndombi convicted Lilian Mweche Muyumba on two counts after her guilty plea. The magistrate fined her KSh30,000 and KSh100,000, KSh130,000 in all (about US$1,000).
What was the offence?
She was convicted of uttering a false document and of presenting a forged certificate. The Star reports the certificate claimed a 1996 KCSE mean grade of C+ from Moi Girls Secondary School, Nangili.
Does she go to prison?
Not if she pays. The court set one year in prison for default on the first fine and two on the second.
What happens to her job?
The reports call her a former accountant and say nothing about dismissal, repayment or a civil case. Those points are not known.
What is NuPEA?
NuPEA is the Nuclear Power and Energy Agency, a Kenyan state agency. The Star says it was earlier called the Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board.
Can the case still be appealed?
No report says whether anyone has appealed. She pleaded guilty under a plea agreement, so no trial took place.
Sources: The Star; Citizen Digital; KBC; exchange rate from open.er-api.com (all accessed 23 October 2026).
This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error · Editorial responsibility: Matthias Camenzind, Editor-in-Chief
Part of our ongoing coverage
Africa: The New Scramble — the great-power contest over the continent.