Eneva Reports Gas Indications in Amazonas; Vivo, Daycoval Payouts

Key Facts
- —What happened Eneva told Brazil’s oil regulator ANP of possible hydrocarbon indications at onshore well 1-ENV-60D-AM in Amazonas, without declaring a discovery.
- —How big a jump The well, in block AM-T-85, was the only one Eneva began drilling this year, with work starting in July 2026.
- —The real story The notification is preliminary and separate from Vivo’s dividend and Daycoval’s capital hike, which anchor the financial moves.
- —The catch Eneva’s notification is unconfirmed by any company material fact or ANP bulletin, and no discovery or commerciality has been declared.
- —Who it touches Investors and shareholders: Vivo holders on record by August 26 get the payout, and Daycoval issues 173.6 million new shares.
- —What comes next Vivo pays by April 2027, Daycoval sets no purpose for funds, and two acquisitions await antitrust or undisclosed terms.
Eneva flags possible hydrocarbons in Amazonas, Vivo declares interest on capital, Daycoval raises funds, and two acquisitions are announced.
Eneva notified Brazil’s oil regulator of possible indications of hydrocarbons at onshore block AM-T-85 in Amazonas, a signal that falls short of a confirmed discovery. Telefonica Brasil declared interest on capital, Banco Daycoval approved a capital increase, and two acquisitions were announced, one of which depends on antitrust approval.
Eneva reports possible hydrocarbons in Amazonas
Eneva notified the ANP, Brazil’s national oil, gas and biofuels regulator, of possible indications of hydrocarbons at well 1-ENV-60D-AM. That well sits in onshore block AM-T-85 in Amazonas state, where drilling began in July 2026, according to Valor Economico on August 17.
Valor headlined the story as natural gas indications. Eneva has not declared a discovery or commerciality, and the company did not respond by press time.
The well 1-ENV-60D-AM was the only well Eneva began drilling this year. The notification was made to the ANP in the week before August 17, but no Eneva material fact or ANP bulletin confirms it.
Interest on capital: Vivo’s R$350 million payout
Telefonica Brasil, owner of the Vivo brand, declared interest on capital totaling R$350 million gross, or about US$67.3 million at the August 17 spot close. After 17.5% withholding tax, the net amount is R$288.75 million, or about US$55.5 million.
Interest on capital, known as JCP, is a Brazilian payout mechanism. Companies deduct these payments to shareholders as an expense, reducing taxable income.
The gross distribution is R$0.10952537999 per share, or R$0.09035843849 net. Shareholders of record at the end of August 26 qualify; shares trade ex-entitlement from August 27. Payment is due by April 30, 2027, with the exact date to be set by management.
The board approved the distribution on 17 August 2026.
Live Company IntelligenceEneva S.A — the full investor dossier
Valuation & profitability
Price & risk
$16.3052-wk high
$31.90
Revenue trend · 6y
Ownership
Dividend
Banco Daycoval approves R$500 million capital increase
Banco Daycoval approved a capital increase of R$500 million, or about US$96.1 million at the same exchange rate. The bank will issue 173.6 million new shares at R$2.88 each, split between 121.5 million common and 52.1 million preferred shares.
After the transaction, share capital rises from R$6.907 billion to R$7.407 billion. The bank did not state a specific purpose for the increase.
Grupo SEB buys São Paulo’s PlayPen school
Grupo SEB, founded by entrepreneur Chaim Zaher, agreed to buy 100% of Escola PlayPen, a bilingual school founded 45 years ago in São Paulo. The transaction value was not disclosed.
Completion depends on approval from CADE, Brazil’s antitrust regulator, according to executive Thamila Zaher. No seller was named in the August 17 reports, and no enrollment or revenue figures were published.
VX Medical acquires Nexus Telerradiologia
Health tech company VX Medical Innovation, which provides teleradiology services, acquired Nexus Telerradiologia, a company based in Piauí that serves 28 clinics and hospitals. The deal value was not disclosed, according to Estadao’s Broadcast column on August 17.
VX, headquartered in Nova Lima, Minas Gerais, reports serving more than 300 hospitals and clinics across 25 of Brazil’s 27 states. That footprint was already reported in May 2026, before this acquisition.
More: Brazil news in English, every day from The Rio Times.
Sources
- valor.globo.com
- www.estadao.com.br
- www.moneytimes.com.br
- valor.globo.com
- www.infomoney.com.br
- visnoinvest.com.br
Frequently Asked Questions
What is interest on capital (JCP) in Brazil?
Interest on capital, or JCP, is a Brazilian mechanism that lets companies pay shareholders while deducting the amount as a business expense, similar to interest on debt. It is subject to 17.5% withholding income tax at the source. Shareholders receive the net amount on the payment date.
What is the ANP and what did Eneva report?
The ANP is Brazil’s national oil, gas and biofuels regulator. Eneva notified the ANP of possible indications of hydrocarbons at well 1-ENV-60D-AM in onshore block AM-T-85, Amazonas. Drilling began in July 2026, and the company has not declared a discovery.
When will Telefonica Brasil pay the interest on capital?
Telefonica Brasil will pay interest on capital to shareholders of record at the end of August 26, 2026. After that date, shares trade ex-entitlement. Payment must be made by April 30, 2027, with the exact date to be defined by management.
What is the value of the VX Medical acquisition of Nexus?
The value of the VX Medical acquisition of Nexus Telerradiologia was not disclosed. Nexus serves 28 clinics and hospitals. VX reports serving more than 300 hospitals and clinics across 25 of Brazil’s 27 states, a footprint it already had before this deal.
This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error · Editorial responsibility: Matthias Camenzind, Editor-in-Chief