IBOV 186,516.59 ▲ 0.01% IPSA 11,294.68 ▼ 0.25% IPC MEX 63,507.11 ▼ 1.11% MERVAL 3,047,849 ▼ 1.04% COLCAP 2,545.46 ▼ 0.85% BVL PERÚ 58,496.57 ▲ 0.73% USD/BRL5.14▼ 0.15% USD/MXN17.13▼ 0.09% USD/CLP952.30▼ 0.42% USD/COP3,135▲ 0.67% USD/PEN3.36▲ 0.15% USD/ARS1,507▲ 0.03% USD/UYU40.19▲ 2.94% USD/PYG5,905▲ 1.29% USD/BOB10.10▼ 13.67% USD/DOP58.80— 0.00% USD/CRC444.45▲ 1.84% USD/GTQ7.62▲ 2.98% USD/HNL26.85▲ 0.27% USD/NIO36.62▲ 0.29% USD/VES844.40▼ 0.13% USD/PAB1.00— 0.00% USD/BZD2.00— 0.00% USD/JMD 157.28 — 0.00% USD/TTD6.73▲ 2.25% EUR/BRL5.93▲ 0.10% BRENT 88.88 ▼ 0.03% WTI 83.11 ▼ 0.11% IRON ORE 161.91 — — COPPER 6.61 ▲ 0.03% GOLD 4,461 ▲ 1.78% SILVER 65.59 ▲ 1.26% SOY 1,184 ▲ 3.20% CORN 480.50 ▲ 10.02% WHEAT 655.00 ▲ 3.93% COFFEE 317.25 ▼ 5.51% SUGAR 16.43 ▼ 1.79% ORANGE JUICE 138.55 ▼ 0.47% COTTON 85.03 ▲ 2.33% COCOA 5,719 ▲ 3.18% BEEF 223.60 ▼ 3.93% CATTLE 339.10 ▼ 3.16% LITHIUM 75.20 ▲ 1.47% PETR4 41.64 ▼ 0.05% VALE3 72.97 ▲ 0.83% ITUB4 38.60 ▼ 1.03% BBDC4 16.85 ▲ 0.36% ABEV3 14.89 ▼ 0.80% BBAS3 19.37 ▲ 0.47% B3SA3 14.26 ▼ 0.21% WEGE3 47.59 ▲ 0.49% PRIO3 59.14 ▼ 0.19% SUZB3 41.33 ▲ 2.35% RENT3 34.68 ▼ 0.09% AZZA3 15.89 ▼ 2.63% CSAN3 3.22 ▼ 1.83% RAIZ4 0.25 — 0.00% PCAR3 2.75 ▼ 0.36% GMAT3 3.65 ▼ 1.08% PSSA3 48.13 ▼ 0.54% CVCB3 1.33 ▼ 2.92% POSI3 3.36 ▲ 2.44% SLCE3 13.34 ▲ 0.30% NATU3 8.14 ▼ 0.73% IBOV 186,516.59 ▲ 0.01% IPSA 11,294.68 ▼ 0.25% IPC MEX 63,507.11 ▼ 1.11% MERVAL 3,047,849 ▼ 1.04% COLCAP 2,545.46 ▼ 0.85% BVL PERÚ 58,496.57 ▲ 0.73% USD/BRL 5.16 ▲ 0.01% USD/MXN 17.06 ▼ 0.24% USD/CLP 913.98 ▲ 0.04% USD/COP 3,140 ▲ 0.03% USD/PEN 3.36 ▼ 0.66% USD/ARS 1,493 ▲ 0.10% USD/UYU 40.27 ▲ 1.24% USD/PYG 5,939 ▲ 1.68% USD/BOB 11.64 ▼ 0.76% USD/DOP 58.34 ▲ 1.25% USD/CRC 445.92 ▲ 0.89% USD/GTQ 7.62 ▲ 2.21% USD/HNL 26.79 ▲ 1.57% USD/NIO 36.62 ▲ 0.69% USD/VES 762.44 ▼ 0.13% USD/PAB 1.00 — 0.00% USD/BZD 2.00 — 0.00% USD/JMD 157.28 — 0.00% USD/TTD 6.70 ▲ 0.61% EUR/BRL 5.95 ▲ 1.01% BRENT 88.88 ▼ 0.03% WTI 83.11 ▼ 0.11% IRON ORE 161.91 — — COPPER 6.61 ▲ 0.03% GOLD 4,461 ▲ 1.78% SILVER 65.59 ▲ 1.26% SOY 1,184 ▲ 3.20% CORN 480.50 ▲ 10.02% WHEAT 655.00 ▲ 3.93% COFFEE 317.25 ▼ 5.51% SUGAR 16.43 ▼ 1.79% ORANGE JUICE 138.55 ▼ 0.47% COTTON 85.03 ▲ 2.33% COCOA 5,719 ▲ 3.18% BEEF 223.60 ▼ 3.93% CATTLE 339.10 ▼ 3.16% LITHIUM 75.20 ▲ 1.47% PETR4 41.64 ▼ 0.05% VALE3 72.97 ▲ 0.83% ITUB4 38.60 ▼ 1.03% BBDC4 16.85 ▲ 0.36% ABEV3 14.89 ▼ 0.80% BBAS3 19.37 ▲ 0.47% B3SA3 14.26 ▼ 0.21% WEGE3 47.59 ▲ 0.49% PRIO3 59.14 ▼ 0.19% SUZB3 41.33 ▲ 2.35% RENT3 34.68 ▼ 0.09% AZZA3 15.89 ▼ 2.63% CSAN3 3.22 ▼ 1.83% RAIZ4 0.25 — 0.00% PCAR3 2.75 ▼ 0.36% GMAT3 3.65 ▼ 1.08% PSSA3 48.13 ▼ 0.54% CVCB3 1.33 ▼ 2.92% POSI3 3.36 ▲ 2.44% SLCE3 13.34 ▲ 0.30% NATU3 8.14 ▼ 0.73%
since 2009
Wednesday, September 16, 2026

Africa Africa Markets & Investment

CDC Bénin Backs Enko PME Fund for West African SMEs

By · September 16, 2026 · 5 min read

Africa Intelligence

One email, every weekday morning. African markets, politics and business — filed from our newsroom in Rio.

Yesterday’s subject line: “Senegal's hidden debt is in your pension fund”

Free. We send a confirmation link first — nothing arrives until you click it. Unsubscribe with one click in any edition. If you stop opening us for 30 days we stop sending by ourselves, as we assume the interest is no longer there. See our privacy policy. We never share your email.

BENIN · INVESTMENT

Key Facts

  • Who is CDC Bénin The Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations du Bénin, a state institution that invests public and long-term savings on the country’s behalf.
  • What it did It subscribed units in Enko PME, an alternative investment fund for small and medium-sized companies in West Africa, on 11 September 2026.
  • How much Not disclosed. Neither the amount nor the number of units was published.
  • What the fund is Enko PME launched in December 2025 and is managed by Enko Capital. It targets 20 billion CFA francs, about US$35 million.
  • What it already owns Nine Burger King outlets in Côte d’Ivoire, acquired in April 2026, and EV.Tech, an electric vehicle charging business, from August 2026.
  • The entry ticket One billion CFA francs, roughly US$1.8 million, for an institutional investor.

A Beninese state fund has put money into burger restaurants and car chargers in Côte d’Ivoire. It will not say how much.

The BCEAO regional central bank building in Cotonou, Benin
CDC Bénin subscribed units in the Enko PME fund on 11 September 2026.
One-stop reference
Company Intelligence
Every listed company in Latin America — financials, ownership and structure for 1,450+ companies across 26 exchanges, in one place.
Browse the directory →
RT
Ask Rio Times
Latin American markets, currencies and companies.
Open the full Ask Rio Times →

The Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations du Bénin subscribed units in Enko PME on 11 September 2026. The fund invests in small and medium-sized companies across West Africa. The amount was not disclosed.

What Was Bought

CDC Bénin subscribed units in Enko PME, an alternative investment fund managed by Enko Capital.

The transaction took place on Friday 11 September 2026 and was reported on 15 September.

Neither the amount invested nor the number of units was made public.

Maryse Lokossou is director-general of CDC Bénin. On the other side are Cyrille Nkontchou, managing partner at Enko Capital, and Cheikh Souleymane Diallo, senior investment director.

What Enko PME Is

The fund launched in December 2025 as a fonds d’investissement alternatif, the regional vehicle for pooled private investment.

It targets 20 billion CFA francs, about US$35 million, and the minimum institutional commitment is one billion CFA francs, roughly US$1.8 million.

Its mandate is small and medium-sized companies in the West African Economic and Monetary Union.

The CFA franc is pegged to the euro at 655.957, so its dollar value moves only with the euro.

What It Has Bought So Far

In April 2026 the fund acquired nine Burger King outlets in Côte d’Ivoire, through the fast-food operations of Servair.

In August 2026 it invested in EV.Tech, which builds electric vehicle charging infrastructure.

Neither is a factory or an exporter. Both are consumer-facing businesses in Abidjan.

That tells you what this fund thinks the West African opportunity is: urban consumption and the infrastructure around it.

Who Enko Capital Is

Enko Capital was founded in 2008 by the brothers Alain and Cyrille Nkontchou.

Its West African arm, Enko Capital West Africa, was set up in Abidjan in 2018.

It has since opened offices in Yaoundé and Kigali, both in 2021.

The group manages Africa-focused funds across listed equities, private equity and now small-business credit and equity.

A street in Parakou, Benin
A caisse des dépôts holds long-dated public money that needs returns over decades.

Why a State Fund Does This

A caisse des dépôts holds long-dated public money: pension reserves, escrow deposits, consignments held under court orders.

That money needs returns over decades, and government bonds alone do not provide them.

Putting a slice into a small-business fund is the standard answer, and it also serves an industrial policy aim.

The tension is that the same institution is both a public policy instrument and a return-seeking investor.

The Size Nobody Will Give

Without the amount, there is no way to judge how large a commitment this is for either side.

Enko PME has not said how much of its 20 billion CFA franc target it has raised.

The fund’s pipeline beyond Burger King and EV.Tech has not been described.

All of it comes from a single agency report, and neither institution has published a release of its own.

The Senate building in Cotonou, Benin
West African banks lend readily to governments and sparingly to mid-sized firms.

Why Small-Business Finance Is the Gap

West African banks lend readily to governments and to large corporates, and sparingly to companies in between.

A firm too big for microfinance and too small for a bank loan has almost nowhere to go.

Funds of this type exist to fill that space, and most of them are financed by development institutions rather than commercial investors.

A domestic state institution investing alongside them is a modest but real change in who carries the risk.

What to Watch

Whether Enko PME announces a first close and at what size.

Whether other West African caisses des dépôts follow, which is how these funds usually reach scale.

The fund’s next investments, which will show whether the consumer focus holds.

And whether either institution discloses the amount, which neither has so far.

Frequently Asked Questions

What did CDC Bénin invest in?

Units in Enko PME, an alternative investment fund for West African small and medium-sized companies, on 11 September 2026.

How much did it invest?

Not disclosed. Neither the amount nor the number of units was published.

What is Enko PME?

A fund launched in December 2025 and managed by Enko Capital, targeting 20 billion CFA francs, about US$35 million.

What does the fund own?

Nine Burger King outlets in Côte d’Ivoire, acquired in April 2026, and EV.Tech, an electric vehicle charging business, from August 2026.

Who is Enko Capital?

An Africa-focused asset manager founded in 2008 by Alain and Cyrille Nkontchou, with a West African arm in Abidjan since 2018.

What is a caisse des dépôts?

A state institution that invests long-dated public money such as pension reserves and court-held deposits.

Sources: Agence Ecofin, CDC Bénin, Enko Capital.


The Big Picture

Africa: The New Scramble — why the world’s powers are competing for the continent

This article was produced by The Rio Times’ automated newsroom system. How we use AI · Report an error

LatAm Markets: Live Signals → — real-time movers, turnover leaders and FX across Latin America.

Read More from The Rio Times

The Rio Times · Power Map
See who really holds power in Latin America
Click to open the Power Map

Rotate for Best Experience

This report is optimized for landscape viewing. Rotate your phone for the full experience.