No menu items!

Brazil has changed its capital twice; find out why

In the five centuries that separate the beginning of the colonial project and the present day, three cities were chosen as the administrative headquarters of Brazil.

However, a curious fact may cause some confusion: Curitiba, Paraná state capital, was instituted as the capital of Brazil for only three days, from March 24 to 26, 1969. It was a measure to strengthen support for the military dictatorship in the region.

Since the decision was more symbolic than practical, this survey focuses on the three de facto capitals: Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?

Check out our other content