Uruguay to apply for accession to Trans-Pacific Partnership, one of the largest free-trade areas by GDP

Speaking at an event organized by the Uruguayan Exporters Association (UEU) on the occasion of Export Day, President Lacalle Pou said that the South American country would seek to join the CPTTP, an agreement he said "has been successful". "Our vocation is to open ourselves to the world," he affirmed.

Uruguay will apply to join the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) "in line with its vocation to open up to the world."

CPTPP is a trade agreement between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam.

The eleven signatories have combined economies representing 13.4 percent of global gross domestic product, at approximately US$13.5 trillion, making the CPTPP one of the world's largest free-trade areas by GDP, along with the United States–Mexico–Canada Agreement, the European Single Market, and the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership.

Speaking . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?