No menu items!

Covid-19: Brazil to close air borders to six African countries due to Omicron variant

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - Brazil officially announced that it decided to close "air borders" with six southern African countries starting Monday (29), in an attempt to prevent or delay the arrival of the new variant of Covid-19, baptized Omicron.

"We are going to protect Brazilians in this new phase of the pandemic," said on Twitter the president's Chief of Staff, Ciro Nogueira, specifying that the rule will be published this Saturday and that the restriction will include South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Hours before the official announcement, the health regulator Anvisa had recommended the government . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?

Check out our other content