No menu items!

Brazil’s Armed Forces will operate in 26 municipalities to curb deforestation

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - Operations will focus four states: Amazonia, Rondônia, Pará and Mato Grosso.

The National Council for the Legal Amazon, led by Vice-President Hamilton Mourão, on Tuesday, July 6, announced a list of 26 municipalities that will be the focus of the Armed Forces' actions in the prevention and repression of environmental crimes.

The details of Operation Samaúma, as the new military incursion into the region has been named, were announced during a meeting between Mourão and federal government Ministers at the Operational and Management Center of the Amazon Protection System (CENSIPAM), in . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?

Check out our other content